For You by Mimi Strong

For You

Aubrey is a tough girl who rarely smiles. She fled her shabby past for a reason, and won’t let anyone close enough to discover her secrets.

Boys with tattoos are on Aubrey’s Stay Away list, but fast-talking Sawyer refuses to take a hint.

Sawyer is a kindred spirit who seems as lost in the world as Aubrey. And he’s cute. Really cute.

She tries to resist, but Sawyer talks his way into one date, and then another. Things get steamy at the beach, and he does say the sweetest things. Aubrey finds herself smiling, and falling in love.

But when the truth comes out about Aubrey’s past, and the police are at the door, will Sawyer stand by her side? Or is she more trouble than she’s worth?

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

 

I follow Mimi Strong on Twitter and when this book went on sale for $.99, I jumped on it. First, the cover is absolutely breathtaking. I could stare at it all day. I dove right into the story. Aubrey has a tough life. She’s pretending to be her sister’s mother, and while we don’t know all the details until later in the story, we know Aubrey is hiding something about her past. She’s lying to everyone just to protect her little sister, Belle.

But when she meets Sawyer, she finds it hard to lie. Even with all the walls she puts up, Sawyer keeps pushing to be with her. And she can’t deny her attraction to him. She takes a big risk by letting him into her life, but she only allows herself to see him sporadically and keeps him from Belle.

I admit that there were times when I wasn’t sold on Sawyer. He did some things that I questioned. But by the end, he had me. He goes through a big change and really grows up. I have to give him a lot of credit for that and for the way he cares about Aubrey.

I really enjoyed this book and recommend it for mature readers. There are many situations that I don’t feel are appropriate for readers under the age of 18, and I love that this disclaimer can be found on Amazon. Kudos to Strong for being upfront about that.

Have you read this one? What were you thoughts?

2 thoughts on “For You by Mimi Strong

    • I have to admit the story was much deeper than I thought it would be. You’re absolutely right about not being able to really know if a story will grab you until you open the book. That’s probably why I love the preview feature on Amazon so much.

Leave a Reply

