3 Sides to a Circle by Jolene Perry and Janna Watts

16170372Love is the ultimate rush.

Freshman year of college isn’t easy. But with a friend like Libby Patterson, it is unforgettable.

Libby is honest and fearless and adorable. She’s the girl on campus that everyone knows. The life of every party. Infectious and addictive, Libby captivates all those around her. Particularly her roommate Honor and their boy bestie Toby.

But three isn’t always a magic number. And there’s more to this trio than what everyone sees.

When Honor finds herself falling for an artist, and Libby doesn’t approve, and Toby finds himself watching Libby more than he should…the sides of their circle become strained.

The three are suddenly stretched between friendship, love and taking sides. They must fight to hold on to each other. But the tighter the hold, the harder it gets. Especially when Libby’s unpredictability turns dangerous. Now it’s up to Honor and Toby to save her from the downward spiral that could break their circle for good.

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

I’ve read other books by Jolene Perry, so I know I love her writing, but if I’m being honest, this wasn’t my favorite of her books. I guess I had trouble figuring out why Honor and Toby did whatever Libby said. Libby is supposed to be the girl who everyone knows and loves, but at the same time, the Libby-Toby-Honor trio is very much separate from the rest of the campus. They are this tight circle that even winds up sleeping (literally sleeping, not having sex) with each other. I kind of feel like the story would’ve worked better if it was spaced out across two or three books so we could see the three get to know each other for a while before forming this bond that made everyone else feel like an outsider. Also, since they are a trio, I kind of expected the narration to alternate between the three of them, but it only goes back and forth between Toby and Honor. Now, after reading the ending, I understood why Libby wasn’t included in the narration, but I still would’ve liked a few chapters by her, even if Toby and Honor dominated the story.

Overall, it was an enjoyable read and I read it rather quickly, but it didn’t measure up to some of Jolene’s other books.

2 thoughts on “3 Sides to a Circle by Jolene Perry and Janna Watts

  1. It’s got a cute cover and the blurb sounded great, but good to read a review of it before I potentially pick it up. I might pass on this one. Thanks Ashelyn!

    • The funny thing is this isn’t the cover of the edition I read, but I can’t find that cover online now. I really do like Jolene’s writing, so if you haven’t read her other books, you should check them out. This story just wasn’t my favorite.

Leave a Reply

