Ashelyn Drake Is…

Today I have a different kind of post for you. It’s a confession really. One I’ve been very eager to make. Those of you who’ve followed my blog or read my Campus Crush series know me as Ashelyn Drake, but that’s not my real name. Ashelyn Drake is a pen name I created back in May of this year. Why? Because I’m actually a YA, MG, and PB author and breaking out into steamy New Adult caused a branding issue. I couldn’t let younger readers stumble upon books that were not suitable for them. So I became Ashelyn Drake, NA and YA romance author.

Who am I really? Kelly Hashway. I’m the author of the Touch of Death series through Spencer Hill Press, with more titles forthcoming through both Spencer Hill Press and Month9Books. What’s it been like being two people? Tough! I felt like I was lying to people, which bothered me. But all in all, I’m glad I gave Ashelyn a chance to stand on her own two feet and become known as a contemporary romance author. I needed to do that, and I’ve met some great writers and readers along the way.

So there you have it. Ashelyn Drake is Kelly Hashway, or at least another version of her.

2 thoughts on “Ashelyn Drake Is…

Leave a Reply

