Oh, the Things that Inspire Stories

You may have seen the announcement I made on my Kelly Hashway blog last week where I said I’m querying agents since my agency has closed. Well, I’m querying a book I really love. It’s a YA contemporary romance and the inspiration for it came from somewhere I never would have anticipated. I have a six-year-old daughter and she likes the Nickelodeon show, Victorious. Well the lead character, Tori, sings a song called “My Best Friend’s Brother”. It cracks me up every time I hear it, mostly because of this line:

“‘Cause he’s such a dream/And you’d know what I mean/If you weren’t related”

It’s the “if you weren’t related” part that makes me laugh. Well anyway, I got this idea for a girl who falls for her best friend’s brother. What started out as a sweet story took a turn for the serious about halfway through my draft. I didn’t seen the twist coming, but I realized it was a good thing. It makes the book different and it tackles a very big issue. So what began as a fun and sweet story from a kind of funny song, turned into a book that deals with a serious issue.

Have you found inspiration from an unlikely source?

Leave a Reply

