A Whisper In Time Excerpt

WhisperinTime_cover

“I have never been useless in my life…”

Rescued from a life of servitude by the boy she loves, Susanna Marsh escapes across two centuries, only to be plunged into a world she’s ill-prepared to face. Unable to work or go to school, Susanna finds herself dependent on others to survive.

Immersed in the fun and demands of his senior year of high school, Mark Lewis longs to share his world with the girl who’s captured his heart. But first he must tackle government bureaucracy to prove Susanna’s identity.

Overwhelmed by her new home, Susanna seeks refuge in history and in news of the people she left behind. But when she learns that danger stalks her sister, Susanna must weigh whether to risk her own future in order to save Phoebe’s happiness.

Setting up the scene: A Whisper In Time takes place five weeks after the end of Whisper Falls. Mark is being very patient with Susanna as she tries to get used to her new world. Grateful, she decides to invite him on a picnic–even though she’s never been on one before.

After spreading out the blanket, we sat down.

“Do you know what happens on a picnic date?” I asked him.

“Whatever you want.”

“I don’t know what I want.”

“No problem. I have plenty of ideas.” His fingers slipped to my cheek, cupped it gently, and turned me toward him. “Kiss me.”

I braced a hand on his chest, the muscle hard and smooth beneath the fabric of his shirt. Our mouths clung briefly and then released.

He smiled lazily. “That is official picnic behavior.”

“Indeed? Picnics involve kissing?”

“The two-person kind of picnic does.” He urged me back against the blanket. I shivered with anticipation and uncertainty, but all thought fled at the slide of his lips over mine.

The weight of his hand at my waist held me steady. Our legs entwined. I was surrounded by the warmth of his body.The cool of a pine-scented breeze. And hot, sweet kisses.

He groaned and broke away, his mouth trailing along my jaw to my neck. I drank in air, overwhelmed by the feelings he created.

Voices passed by on the bike trail.

I grasped at the excuse. “Mark?”

He pushed up on his arms, gazing at me through half-closed lids. “Hmmm?”

“Can they see us?”

“Uh-uh.” He rolled to his back, pulling me along until I lay snugly against his side. “Babe. If making out is too much for you, weíll stop.”

“And that will be acceptable?”

“You’re in charge. Always.” His lips twitched. “I wonít promise not to get grumpy, but better that than scare you off.”

“I am in charge?” I must be clear on this magical fact. “Even now?”

“Completely. Totally. Absolutely.”

I hushed him with a kiss.

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Whisper In Time Excerpt

Leave a Reply

